The 11th World Town Criers Championships was held in
Maryborough, Queensland, Australia from 10th to 17th September 2005.

The winner was Hans van Laethem from Ninove in Belgium

Story from ABC Wide Bay


1 Hans Van Laethem Ninove
2 John Charles Kerr Coffs Harbour
3 Stephen Clarke
City of Gosford
4 Carole Williams
Bishops Stortford
5 Willy Van De Putte
Gent - Belgium
6 Paul Gough
The Borough of Nuneaton & Bedworth
7 Phil Street
Lyme Regis, Dorset
8 Andrew Shears
City of Greater Geelong
9 Fred Martens
10 Chris Whyman
City of Kingston, Ontario

There were a total of 65 criers competing.

Congratulations to the winners and to the Organisers.

Please note: The 2007 competition was cancelled.

The Guild is seeking bids from Town Criers whose Towns/Cities who would be interested in hosting either the 2009 Worlds Town Criers Championships or the 2010 European Championships. First consideration will be given to anyone who has hosted smaller competitions. Any Town/City interested should contact:

AHGTC Guild Secretary, David Peters or

AHGTC Guild Chairman, Anthony (Tony) Evans.