Town Criers Prayer

Their bells are silent now.
Their voices unheard.
Their lives of service will be recalled
and its message understood.
God be with them.

Their bells are silent now.
Their eyes no longer see,
For they are with their maker
Their souls are set free.
But although they have left us now,
We’ll meet again some day
And then at heavens gate
We will hear their loud OYEZ!

Hire a Town Crier

Town criers as we know them today have been making public announcements and proclamations since the 18th century. They...

read more

Recruit a Town Crier

In order to recruit a town crier for the first time or to replace one who has died or retired, you will need a Job...

read more

Criers by Location


Alcester: David Parkes

Alton: Dave Parsons

Ampthill: Kelvin Horton

Arundel: Angela Standing

Axbridge: Nigel Scott

Axminster: Nicholas Goodwin


Bakewell and Newmarket: Brenda Willison

Bampton: Simon Bartlett

Barnoldswick: Elizabeth Anderson-Watson

Beaconsfield: Richard Smith

Bideford: Jim Weeks

Billingham: Joe Stockil

Bishop Stortford: Carole Williams

Blandford Forum: Jean Jeffrey

Blandford Forum (Deputy): Liz Rawlings

Bodmin: Terry Williams

Bognor Regis: Jame Smith

Bridport: John Collingwood

Bromsgrove, Manor of: Kevin Ward

Bromyard & Winslow: Peder Nielsen


Callington: Anthony Stentiford

Calne: Mark Wylie

Calstock: Hilary Fairhurst

Chard: Stuart Cumming

Cheltenham: Ken Brightwell

Chesham: Jane Dodd

Chester: David Mitchell

Chilton: Norman Strongman

Chipping Sodbury. Manor of: David Griffiths

Christchurch: Jonathan Rayner

Cinderford: Jeremy Holland

Cirencester: John Lawrence

Clare: Andrew Parkhurst

Clitheroe: Roland Hailwood

Colchester: Robert Needham

Colyton: Brian Norris

Cromer: Mark Northway


Dartmouth: Les Ellis

Dawlish: Stephen Cunliffe

Dorchester: Alistair Chisholm


East Riding of Yorkshire: Michael Wood

Eccleston: Gez Clark

Exmouth: Roger Bourgein


Fairford: Andrew Stopka

Farnham: Michael Stephens

Ferndown: Mike Andrews

Filey: David Bull

Fowey: Alan Giles

Frome: Mike Bishop


Garstang: Hilary Barbara McGrath

Gemeente: Tim Van-Laethem

Glastonbury: David Greenway

Gloucester: Alan Myatt

Grassington: Bob Kendall

Great Dunmow: Jody Huizar

Guildford: David Peters


Hailsham: Terry Tozer

Hamilton, Bermuda: Ed Christopher

Haslemere: Christian Ashdown

Hatherleigh. Manor of: Rosalind Charlton-Chard

Hay-on-Wye: George Tofaradies

Helmsley: David Hinde

Hilton: Joel Hutsell

Holyhead: Jeff Evans

Honiton: David Retter

Hythe: Chris McNeilly


Ilminster & Manor of Dillington: Andrew Fox GIFireE


Kensington & Chelsea, and Herald at The Royal Hospital, Chelsea: Roy Palmer

Kidderminster: Stephen Day

Kingsbridge: Roger Pinder

Kingsteignton: Jackie Edwards

Knighton: Derek Price MBE


Launceston: Robert Tremain

Leek: Gordon William Lomas

Leighton & Linslade: Christopher Morgan

Lenham: Michael Dale

Leominster: Richard Brookman

Lichfield: Adrian Holmes

Liskeard: Christopher Smirthwaite

Llandrindod Wells: Janet Swindale

Llandudno: Andrew Nicholas Baxter

Llanfair Caereinion: David Salter

Lutterworth: Peter Hollinshead

Lydney: Timothy Enbon

Lytham, Manor of: Kila Redfearn


Market Drayton: Geoff Russell

Marlborough: Mike Tupman MBE

Medway: Mike Billingham

Middlewich: Devlin Hobson

Millbrook: Clive O’Shaughnessy

Montgomery: Susan Blower

Morley: Steven Holt


Nailsworth & Minchinhampton and Tetbury: Anthony Evans

Newbury: Brian Sylvester

Newcastle-Under-Lyme: Gordon Brayford

Newhaven: Jason Ede

Newquay: David Bradshaw

Newton Abbot: Nigel Kenneison

Newton Abbot, Manor of: Eveline Joan Davies

Norwich: Bob Lloyd

Nuneaton & Bedworth: Paul Gough


Oswestry: Philip Brown

Otley: Terry Ford


Peacehaven and Lewes: Jon Borthwick

Penzance: Philip Northcott

Pershore: Robert Speight

Peterborough: Pearl Capewell

Petersfield: Faye Thompson

Petworth: Nigel Flynn

Plymouth: John Pitt

Plymouth (Deputy) and Torpoint: David Green

Pocklington: Tony Cuffling

Poole: David Squire


Romsey: Terry Hamer

Royal Tunbridge Wells & Westerham: John Scholey

Royal Wootton Bassett: Owen Collier

Rye: Paul Goring

Rye (Deputy): Arabella Ansar


Sandbach: Denis Robinson

Scarborough: David Birdsall

Seaford: Peter White

Sevenoaks: Chris Conlan

Sheringham: Andrew Cunningham-Brown

Shipston-on-Stour: Marion Lowe

Sleaford: John Griffiths

Southampton: Alan Spencer

Southport and Darwen: Daryll Counsell

St Anne’s-on-Sea: John Spencer-Barnes

St Columb Major: Kevin Roberts

Studley: Adrian Smith

Swanage: Andrew Fleming


Tavistock: David Allen Turner

Teignmouth: Patrick Brophy

Tenby: Jim Cornwell

Tewksbury: Micheal Kean-Price

Topsham: Rogan Meadows

Trowbridge: Trevor Heeks

Truro: Lionel Knight


Victor Harbor, City of: Michael Willett


Wareham: Jacquie Hall

Warwick: Michael Reddy

Watton: Mike Wabe

Wellington, Shropshire: Steve Warwood

Wellington, Somerset: Andrew Norris

Wells: Len Sweales

West Moors: Iain Mitchell

Westbury: John Hadfield

Whitehaven: Marc Goodwin

Wimborne Minster: Christopher Brown

Windsor & Maidenhead, Royal Borough of: Chris Brown

Winsford: Ben Booth

Witney: Jean Postlethwaite-Dixon

Worthing: Robert John Smytherman

Wotton-under-Edge: George Carpenter